afterpay

Kayaking Clubs

Are you looking for more out of Paddling?

Kayaking – Are you looking for people to go paddling with?

The great thing about Kayaking is that there are so many Canoe and Kayak Clubs that you will enjoy the adventure with others.

As a retail paddling store, we are often the first port of call for people looking for other people to go paddling with. We recommend that if you are a novice paddler, you consider joining one of the many registered kayak clubs. Whilst many clubs are focused on a particular aspect of kayaking (racing, white water, sea kayaking, etc), there are clubs around that have more of a general feel to them whilst still having the specialist areas incorporated into them.

As a member of a club you will often pay a membership fee but the advantage is that you receive all the insurance coverage, advice and general guidance, as well as development days and tours. Paddling groups and Clubs are located throughout Australia and we have compiled a sample to get you started.

Kayaking

The benefits of joining a registered club over a casual paddling group are:

  • Insurance Coverage
    In this world of legalities, it is important to make sure that your medical and other out-of-pocket expenses are covered if you are injured whilst kayaking. Also, that you are not at risk of losing your assets (including your home) if someone sues you as a result of an injury on a trip where you were the co-coordinating trip leader.
    Membership costs range between $50 and $100 per year, so for less than $2 per week, you can have peace of mind.
  • People with experience that you can learn from
    By joining a club, you can draw on the expertise of others in the group, rather than it being a case of the blind-leading-the-blind, where all paddlers are beginners and fumbling along together.
  • Skill Development Days
    Clubs run days where you can learn the skills necessary for safe and enjoyable paddling. This will help you to develop appropriate skills from the beginning, and avoid developing bad habits that can cause injury and be difficult to rectify later.

Kayaking

Kayaking in NSW

Kayak Club Name Location Website or Email
Central Coast Paddlers Wyong www.centralcoastpaddlers.org.au
Cronulla Sutherland Kayak Club Grays Point www.cronullasutherlandkayakclub.com
Far North Coast Canoe Club Lismore www.fnccc.canoe.org.au
Lane Cove Rover Kayakers Lane Cove West www.lcrk.org.au
Manly Warringah Kayak Club Narrabeen www.mwkc.com.au
Penrith Valley Canoeing Penrith www.pvc.canoe.org.au
Southside Paddlers Woronora www.southside.canoe.org.au

Kayaking in Queensland

Kayak Club Name Location Website or Email
Broken Paddle Canoe Club Boonah www.brokenpaddle.canoe.org.au
Brothers Canoe Club Indooroopilly www.brothers.canoe.org.au
Currumbin Creek Paddlers Club Palm Beach www.currumbincreek.canoe.org.au
Karana District Kayak/Canoe Club Karana Downs www.karana.canoe.org.au
Mackay Canoe Club Pleystowe www.swan.canoe.org.au
Newport Waters Canoe Club Kippa Ring www.newportwaters.canoe.org.au
Sandgate Canoe Club Inc Shorncliffe www.sandgate.canoe.org.au
West End Canoe Club West End www.westend.canoe.org.au
Wynnum Redlands Canoe Club Thorneside www.wynnumredlands.canoe.org.au

Kayak South Australia – Clubs

Kayak Club Name Location Website or Email
Marathon Canoe Club Adelaide www.mcc.canoe.org.au
Northern Districts Canoe Club Mawson Lakes www.ndcc.canoe.org.au
West Lakes Canoe Club West Lakes www.westlakes.canoe.org.au

Kayak Victoria – Clubs

Kayak Club Name Location Website or Email
Ballarat Amateur Canoe Club Ballarat www.ballaratcanoeclub.org.au
Essendon Canoe Club Ascot Vale www.essendon.canoe.org.au
Fairfield Canoe Club Fairfield www.fairfieldcanoeclub.org.au
Footscray Canoe Club Footscray www.footscray.canoe.org.au
Kananook Creek Canoe Club Seaford www.kccc.canoe.org.au
Kirinari Kayak Klub Wonga Park www.kirinari.canoe.org.au
Patterson Lakes Canoe Club Carrum www.pattersonlakescanoeclub.org.au
Tarwin River canoe Club Tarwin River www.tarwinriver.canoe.org.au
Yarrawonga Mulwala Canoeing Club Yarrawonga www.ymacc.canoe.org.au

Other Useful Links for Kayaking Information

Weather Information

Weather can play a critical element in your paddling experience.  Having knowledge of the impending weather conditions in advance is important especially for an overnight kayaking trip or tour. We have compiled a list of helpful websites.

  • Bureau of Meterology – A government body providing national weather and climate reports with regular forecast and weather warnings across Australia.
  • Coastalwatch – Australia’s largest network of surf reports, surf cams and forecast.
  • Seabreeze – Australians water-sports website where you can view stories, weather forecast and great information from like minded water-sports enthusiast.

Peak Kayaking and Canoeing Bodies in Australia

We are so lucky to have many government and private organisations that help us with guides on places to paddle, how to be safe on the water and much more.  Check out each website for useful information.

Magazines and Forums

Are you after some great stories of other people’s adventures or possibly some help with some good kayaking spots or want to develop your paddling skills.  Here are some helpful sites to get you motivated to do more paddling.

We love the outdoors and thrive on every opportunity we get to paddle. We are happy to help with any questions you have.

Sharing is caring

afterpay

Our range is all on
display at Berkeley Vale

  • Central Coast 4/7 Enterprise Drive, Berkeley Vale

We are happy to answer any questions you may have by phone on 1300 815 110
If you prefer to speak to Chad as the owner, he paddles in all our products and can help with all technical questions on 0416004440 and also takes phone orders.